Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas Prize for Literature and Literary Criticism

Applicants are hereby invited for The Nigeria Prize for Literature. The yearly literary prize is endowed by Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) Limited to honour the author of the best book by a Nigerian within the last four years.
Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas Prize for Literature and Literary Criticism

The prize rotates among four literary genres – prose fiction, poetry, drama and childrens literature. This year, the competition is for Children’s Literature.
The competition is open only to published works by Nigerian writers irrespective of thier place of residence. It carries a reward of $100,000.
Panel of Judges
  • Professor Obododinma Oha – Chairman
  • Professor Asabe Usman Kabir – Member
  • DR Patric Oloko – Member
An International Consultant will be appointed.
Advisory Board
  • Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo – Chairman
  • Professor Jerry Agada – Member
  • Professor Emeritus Ben Elugbe – Member

Key Dates:Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas Prize for Literature and Literary Criticism

The winner will normally be announced in October and will be presented to the public on a later date.
All entries must be in by 5th April, 2019. Late entries will not be entertained.

Submission Procedure:

  • Ten copies of the entry and, if available, an e-copy, together with evidence of Nigerian citizenship (photocopy of Nigerian passport or National identily card), may be submitted either by authors or publishers, in accordance with the genres in competition.
  • Books should be submitted to Nigeria LNG Limiteds External Relations Division, promoters of the prize, by the stipulated deadline. Failure to meet the stated conditions will lead to disqualification of the entry.
  • No book published before January, 2015 will be accepted. Complete contact information, including full contact address, email(s), phone number(s) and other relevant contact Information should accompany each submission.
  • An author will enter only one published work, Mere manuscripts will not be considered. No book previously submitted for this competition may be re-submitted at later date, even if major revisions have been made or a new edition published. The prize will be awarded for no other reason than excellence.
  • No members of the Advisory Board or Panel of judges can enter their work(s) for the award in the period in which they are serving and two years therafter. No entries will be entertained from members of NLNG Staff and their families

How to Enter the Nigeria Prize for Literature:

Entries shall be sent to:
The Nigeria Prize for Literature
External Relations Division
Nigeria LNG Limited
Intels Aba Road Estate
Km 16 Port Harcourt-Aba Expressway
RM.B 5660, Port Harcourt
Rivers State, Nigeria.
The Nigeria Prize for Literature 
External Relations Division 
Nigeria LNG Limited 
4th Floor, Heron House 
10 Dean Farrar Street 
London, SW1H 0DX.

Post a Comment